CLICK HERE

to make a donation and support the rebuilding of the Sugar Shack

Vanier 50th

Vanier celebrates its 50th Anniversary

 

Vanier – The National Capital’s historically francophone neighbourhood – did not always bear this name.

The village of Eastview was born in 1908, through the unification of three communities: Clandeboye, Clarkstown and Janeville, and became a city in 1913.  On the initiative of Mayor Gérard Grandmaître, the city’s name was changed to Vanier in 1969, in honour of Georges-Philias Vanier (1888-1959), Canada’s first French-Canadian Governor General. In 2001, Vanier was integrated into the new City of Ottawa.

50 years later, Vanier remains a vibrant and welcoming neighbourhood, proud to celebrate its diversity wherever it can!

All Exhibitions

© Vanier Museopark. All rights reserved.